KS1 Computing Curriculum

Teaching and Learning - Key Stage 1

The National Curriculum presents the subject as one lens through which pupils can understand the world. There is a focus on computational thinking and creativity, as well as opportunities for creative work in programming and digital media. The introduction makes clear the three aspects of the computing curriculum: 

Computer Science (CS) Information Technology (IT) and Digital Literacy (DL). 

Key stage 1 

Pupils should be taught to: 

  • understand what algorithms are, how they are implemented as programs on digital devices, and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions.

  • create and debug simple programs 

  • use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of simple programs 

  • use technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content 

  • recognise common uses of information technology beyond school 

  • use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies.

Examples of these computing tems and what they mean can be found for

Key Stage 1 children at https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/subjects/zyhbwmn 


Autumn Term 2022


Key Stage 1 will be recognising different technology in school and out of school and using search engines to retrieve information.


St Anne's Catholic Primary School
Monastery Lane, Sutton, St Helens Merseyside WA9 3SP